The purpose of this advanced tool is to allow the removal of users from an ACT database while retaining a historical reference to entries created by the user being deleted. For example, the way ACT works natively is as follows. When you delete a user, a dialog box opens and asks you if you want to reassign the contacts. If you do not select this option, the contacts associated with the user being deleted are removed. If you reassign the contacts, the record manager is changed on all the entries EVER created by the user being deleted. For this reason, there is an option to make a user INACTIVE thereby freeing the license and retaining the histories and notes created by that user. For databases with few user records, this is not an issue. However, in larger organizations or in organizations where staff changes frequently, the user table can grow quite large. That is why we created our tool.
Our tool works as follows. It is selected from the Tools menu and is called Advanced Delete User. It will allow you to select the user you are deleting and the user to whom you are reassigning the records. It will then go thru the database and add the text “Original Record Manager: <name>” (the name of the user being deleted is inserted after the colon) to the beginning of a Note entry and the beginning of the details portion of a History record. The record manager field/column will be changed to the new user. We do not have the ability to keep the original user name or “Record Manager” because of how ACT refers to the underling User table. You will be able to find these history records later by doing a search for “original record manager:” or by searching for the original user name. You can choose to select to reassign the records to <none> in which case all the tool will do is update all the notes and histories with the original record manager name but not delete the user. This is convenient if you want to retain the original user for a period of time.
System Requirements: ACT! 2010 and higher
Your cart is empty